Shiplogo Download

FAQs

General

What is Ship?

Ship is the first app to let your friends help you find the perfect match. Invite your friends and let them filter through hundreds of matches for you. After all, your friends know you best!

Is Ship free?

Yes! Download the Ship app for free in the App Store (iOS).

What is the minimum age requirement?

The minimum age requirement for Ship is 18 years old.

Is my phone supported?

Ship is optimized for iPhone 6 and later, with iOS 11 and higher. Ship does not support iPhone SE, iPhone 5 or any earlier model.

Can I get Ship on my Android phone?

Ship is currently only available on iOS, but we are working hard to bring it to Android very soon.

How do I create a Ship account?

Download the Ship app for iOS from the app store and tap “Single” or “Not Single”.

How do I manage my notifications?

From the My Profile tab, tap on “Settings”, then tap the Push Notifications toggle on/off.

I'm Single…

Profile

Why do you need my location?

Ship uses your location to find matches near you.

How do I add a photo?

From the My Profile tab, tap on “Edit Profile”, then tap on a plus (+) sign in the top section to add a photo. Follow the prompts to select a photo from your Camera Roll.

How can I change my primary photo?

The first photo (top left) will be your primary photo throughout the app. To change your primary profile photo, press on another photo and drag it into the first photo position. You can repeat these steps to reorder your photos at any time.

How do I delete a photo?

From the My Profile tab, tap on “Edit Profile”, then tap on the (X) next to the photo you want to delete.

How do I edit my description?

From the My Profile tab, tap on “Edit Profile”. From here, you can tap into and change your “About Me” section or update your job and school.

How do I preview my profile?

From the Profile tab, tap your thumbnail image to preview your profile.

Crews

Why do you ask for my contacts?

Ship is all about making dating a fun, positive social experience with your friends. We ask for access to your contacts to make inviting friends to your Crew an easy, seamless experience.

What are Crews?

Every single user on Ship gets their own Crew. Here, it's all about you and finding you the best matches. Obviously, you're a part of your own Crew, but the fun begins when you invite your friends to join your Crew. Every member of your Crew can send a like to a profile that meets your search settings. If that profile also sends a like back, IT'S A MATCH!

How do I invite friends to join my Crew?

Go to Profile > My Crew then tap Add Friends. You can also manage your Crew members by going to Your Crew then tapping the members icon in the top right.

How do I set my search preferences?

Discover is the part of the app where you and your Crew see other single Ship members. To adjust who you see on Ship, you can edit your Settings (which can be found in the Profile tab).

What appears in the Crew activity feed?

Anytime your Crew rates profiles (i.e. sends a like or passes) or creates a match it will appear in the activity feed. By default, anytime you rate profiles, create a match, or start a conversation with a match it will also appear in the Crew activity feed. You can control visibility around your activity in Crew Settings.

Can I override likes that my Crew sent?

Not at this time. But we really believe that your crew has your back. Give their picks a chance, and you can always unmatch with profiles that don't interest you.

Can my Crew read my private conversations?

No. That's private. The only thing that your Crew will see is that you and a match started talking. (You can even hide this from your Crew by adjusting your privacy settings.)

How do I join my single friends' Crews?

Go to Crews then tap the plus sign (+) in the top right.

How does Discover work?

Discover is the part of the app where you and your Crew see other single Ship members. The dropdown at the top of the page lets you select who you want to match for (i.e. a list of all the crews you're in). When you select a friend from the dropdown, Discover will refresh to display profiles that meet that friend's search settings.

If you are matching for yourself, your activity on this page will appear in your Crew feed. You can control visibility around your activity in Crew Settings.

If you are matching for a friend, your activity on this page will appear in that friend's Crew feed.

Matching and Messaging

How do I message someone that I match with?

To send a message to someone, they must be a mutual match first – i.e., you or your crew liked them and they liked you. All of your mutual matches will appear on the Matches tab. Tap into any match to start chatting.

How do I unmatch someone?

From the Matches page, tap into any match or message. Then tap on the 3 dots in the top right corner and tap “unmatch”. Once unmatched with someone, this cannot be undone.

I'm in a Relationship…

Who will see me on Ship?

Don't worry, you will only be seen by the Crews that you join. You won't even have a profile on Ship. You're there just to find your friends matches. 👌

How do I join my single friends' Crews?

Go to Crews then tap the plus sign (+) in the top right.

How do I match for my friends?

First, you have to be in your single friend's crew. You can then browse through profiles that meet your single friend's search settings on the Discover page.

When you find a profile that you want to set your friend up with, simply send a like to that profile on behalf of your friend. If that profile sends a like back, IT'S A MATCH! That profile will appear in your friend's Matches page. The Crew will also be notified of the match in the Crew Activity feed.

How does Discover work?

Discover is the part of the app where you and your Crew see other single Ship members. The dropdown at the top of the page lets you select who you want to match for (i.e. a list of all the crews you're in). When you select a friend from the dropdown, Discover will refresh to display profiles that meet that friend's search settings.

If you are matching for a friend, your activity on this page will appear in that friend's Crew feed.

How do I report someone?

From any profile, find and tap the “report” icon.

Safety, Security, and Privacy

At Ship, your privacy is a top priority. It is at the core of the way we design and build the services and products you know and love, so that you can fully trust them and focus on building meaningful connections.

As part of our commitment to transparency in the way we process your information, we explain here what automated decision-making and profiling are, why it is at the very heart of our service (in fact, it’s probably the reason you love using our products!) and how you benefit from it.

How do I delete my account?

Go to Settings > Account > Delete Account and follow the prompts to delete your account.

I need help with my account

Please email support@getshipped.com or send us a message and we will get back to you ASAP!

What is automated decision-making and profiling?

Europe’s data protection framework, the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”), provides the following definitions:

Does Ship rely on automated decision-making or profiling?

Automated decision-making and profiling are invisible features that are at the core of the services you know and love, upon which we constantly improve and without which we would be unable to help you build meaningful connections.

We use these features for the following reasons:

We use the information you and other users provide us (such as your profile), along with information we collect from your use of our service (like your location, should you allow us to collect it) and others’ use the service, to power our best-in-class proprietary matching algorithms and recommend the most compatible people to you, based on a number of criteria, including the attributes you told us (or we noticed) you like, common interests, your search criteria and location. Of course, we use the same process to recommend you to other users.

We use information about you to show you useful and relevant ads on and off our service and measure the effectiveness of these ads. We also use information about you to deliver offers and discounts tailored to your profile.

We use automated decision-making and profiling as part of our moderation efforts (for example, removing bots), as well as to promote the safety and security of our users by making it easier to prevent illegal and unauthorized actions from happening and to swiftly and efficiently detect and fight those actions when they happen.

This processing may have a significant impact on users found to be carrying out illegal or unauthorized activities, both on and off our services, including suspension and account closure, without prejudice to other legal actions we could take.